Forest of Nisene Marks

I recently showed my work at the Sausalito Art Festival, and took the opportunity while I was in California to drive down to the Forest of Nisene Marks State Park in Aptos. The park is a beautiful and not well known forest, that was also the epicenter of the Loma Prieta earthquake, which occurred when I was working in San Francisco.

My favorite trail is the Aptos Creek Trail, which had been heavily damaged by the winter storms, so it was more than usually challenging. I hiked in about 6 miles, spent the night and then back again in the morning. It’s always a special treat to experience dusk and then dawn in a forest.

_DSC1778_79_80HDR
looking out through a stand of redwoods
_DSC1844_5_6HDR Panorama
This is pretty far in on Aptos Creek, as dusk was falling.
_DSC1793_4_5HDR
This is the spot that I had remembered from an earlier hike years before. I got there about an hour and a half late for the light I wanted though!
_DSC1851
Dawn just coming into the forest right after I had woken up.
_DSC1972 Panorama
This is a wonderful little glade, looking up at the fog in the redwoods in the early morning.
_DSC1957_8_9HDR
Deep in, the forest is a mix of redwoods and bays, and has an Edenic feel.
DSC03426
This is high on the trail looking out southwest.
_DSC1871_2_3HDR Panorama
The canyon looking up towards the fog on the hills
_DSC2002_3_4HDR
This is one of the bridges along the road as you head into the park.

2 thoughts on “Forest of Nisene Marks

  1. Barbara McGuire

    Jonathan,

    Looks like you found a little gem while on your journey.

    How did your Sausalito show go. Was it more fun than profitable or the other way around? Did you sell the beautiful one of the bridge at night with the colored lights and reflections?

    Looks like a great time.

    BJM

    Like

Leave a comment